Ontario University Registrars' Association

OURA Awards

OURA Awards

Do you have a colleague that has gone above and beyond? Considering nominating your colleague for one of our OURA awards:

Past OURA Awards Recipients

Each year, we recognize the innovation, excellence and achievements of OURA members during our conference.

Award Recipients

Award of Excellence:

Deanna McQuarrie, Guelph University – Nominated by Ray Darling

Helen Buac, McMaster University – Nominated by Bernadette Belan

Rock Hau, RMC – Nominated by Karl Michaud

Kevin Goodchild, Ryerson University – Nominated by Susan Vercruysse

Joan Mann, Trent University – Nominated by Tracy Al-Idrissi

Susan Allward, UOIT – Nominated by Lori Russell

Maureen Jones, Waterloo University – Nominated by Catherine Newell Kelly

Jennifer Casey, Laurier – Nominated by Juile Hummel


Honourary Member Award:

Serge Demers, Laurentian – Nominated by Christopher Rooney

Award of Achievement: Barb Cecchetto, Ryerson University

Award of Excellence: Dennis Tian, McMaster University, and Sasha Trivett, Trent University

Innovation Award: Ryerson University

Ryerson University developed a system for publishing the Undergraduate Calendar completely in-house using the university website platform.  The benefits of this new system include:

  • Customized branding of the calendar
  • Fully e-reader, mobile phone etc. friendly, AODA compliant
  • Comprehensive course information is now linked/referenced
  • ‘Hover’ function was added which allows the course description to pop up when reviewing the course requirements
  • Improved search options


Other nominees:

  • McMaster University
  • Trent University


Award of Excellence: Tracy Al-Idrissi,Trent University, Samantha Read, Ryerson University,Ruth Toth, McMaster University,Ruth MacNeil, Wilfrid Laurier University.
Honorary Membership:Barb Davis, Brock University.

Innovation Award: Glendon-York University
Recipients: Courtney Mallam, Cristina Bregar, Jessica Perkins, Elodie Ly, David Ip Yam, Juan Garido, Francette MaquitoAward of Excellence: Effie Gatsinos, University of Guelph
Marisa Modeski, Ryerson UniversityHonorary Membership Award: Lynn Judge

Honorary Award of Distinction: George Granger, OUAC

Innovation Award: University of Waterloo

Waterloo Receives OURA Innovation Award

The recipient of the the OURA Innovation Award was the University of Waterloo who developed a graduate admission system. The system facilitates a paperless application management process and provides online services to applicants, referees, reviewers, departments, Faculties and the Graduate Studies to improve timelines for decisions, offers and responses.

Some key components of the system include:

  • electronic document management
  • electronic reference letters
  • online applications for department evaluation
  • online recommendations for admission
  • harmonized offer of admission

Congratulations University of Waterloo on your OURA Innovation Award.


Innovation Award: Brock University

Brock Receives Provincial Registrars’ Association Award

This article first appeared in the Brock News

Brock is the recipient of this year’s Ontario Universities Registrars’ Association (OURA) Innovation Award, which rewards universities for improving the quality and reducing the cost of academic admission.

The OURA Innovation Award recognizes and rewards achievements in the following areas: admissions, registration, examinations, scheduling, transcripts, systems, records, calendars, scholarships and awards, secondary school liaison, and related activities. Brock’s Office of the Registrar won for its Electronic Academic Calendar Submission/Revision Project.
The award is valued at $5,000 and is given in the form of an endowment to fund a student scholarship.

The Office of the Registrar, in partnership with ITS/Web Development, developed a web-based system to facilitate the Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Calendar Revision Submission process. This project improves the annual process by which the academic calendar is developed and produced, and improves efficiency, productivity and cost savings. The first year of implementation, collaboration and support from the academic units and the undergraduate program committee have contributed to a successful launch of phase one.

The award was accepted by Barb Davis, Registrar, and Gloria Gallagher, Associate Registrar, during the OURA Annual Conference held March 1 to 3 in Toronto. The two also presented a conference session on the project and will make a similar presentation at the Association of Registrars of the Universities and Colleges of Canada Conference in June.
“I would like to acknowledge the exceptional work of both Mwinchande Chande in the Office of the Registrar and Geoff Martin in ITS, and to thank members of UPC and everyone in the academic units for their support and enthusiasm in embracing this project,” Davis said. “It is very much a community effort.”

Samantha Craggs – Brock University